Long Term Downside Forecasts

Investments, gold, currencies, surviving after a financial meltdown
mosullivan

Long Term Downside Forecasts

Post by mosullivan »

I manage corporate pension plans for a living. I also read a lot and try to understand the world and events around me. I knew there were severe risks in the system yet, I didn't expect the recent selloff to be so swift. I'm trying to fairly value or project the course of the broader US markets, SPX and DJIA for this crash. I want to build a thesis that I can measure and would be welcome to ideas.

I recently heard that If we take the DJIA in 1982 and add annualized real US GDP as a percentage to the DOW, the figure is somewhere between 3500-4000. I am going to confirm this. Does anyone have thoughts on the long term projection or what we will eventually see as fair value ? If there is already a link on this, I apologize for a re post and please point out.

Regards, MOS

John

Re: Long Term Downside Forecasts

Post by John »

mosullivan wrote:I manage corporate pension plans for a living. I also read a lot and try to understand the world and events around me. I knew there were severe risks in the system yet, I didn't expect the recent selloff to be so swift. I'm trying to fairly value or project the course of the broader US markets, SPX and DJIA for this crash. I want to build a thesis that I can measure and would be welcome to ideas.

I recently heard that If we take the DJIA in 1982 and add annualized real US GDP as a percentage to the DOW, the figure is somewhere between 3500-4000. I am going to confirm this. Does anyone have thoughts on the long term projection or what we will eventually see as fair value ? If there is already a link on this, I apologize for a re post and please point out.

Regards, MOS

See the following, which describes it in detail:

** How to compute the 'real value' of the stock market.
** http://www.generationaldynamics.com/cgi ... anic070820

Sincerely,

John

mark

Post by mark »